Hotel Genio Rome

. Read details, view map, photos and book online

USD U.S. dollar

English


Choose your language

Reviews Recommended by 103 guests out of 113

Overall Hotel rating

  • Property facilities 3.9
    • Aspect and property quality 3.6
    • Room cleanliness 3.8
    • Room comfort 3.5
    • Hotel location (city centre or good connections to) 4.7
  • Service offered 3.8
    • Quality of the service and treatment 3.7
    • Professionalism of employees 4
    • Average satisfaction for the service received 3.9
    • Quality of breakfast 3.4
  • Balance between web presentation and reality 3.6
    • Property pictures 3.4
    • Room pictures 3.3
    • Available services 3.4
    • Distance from the centre and the main tourist attractions 4.4

Rating by type of Guests

  • Single traveller (9) 3.8
  • Couple (83) 4
  • Couple with children (10) 3.7
  • Business traveller (2) 2.9
  • Group (9) 3.4
  • Legend
  • 1pt: bad
  • 2pt: average
  • 3pt: above average
  • 4pt: good
  • 5pt: excellent

Guest reviews with comments

  • 27 May 2018
    3.3 / 5 Above average

    Karl Otto Hassing Christensen (Denmark)Couple
  • 9 May 2018
    4 / 5 Good

    Anonymous (Norway)Couple
  • 28 July 2016
    3.8 / 5 Good

    All good, except very bad WiFi and air conditioning. Good service, rooms and service. Excellent views and picture ops from roof garden. Beautiful.

    Anonymous (United States)Couple
  • 1 June 2016
    5 / 5 Excellent

    Keith Sahm (Cayman Islands)Couple
  • 22 April 2016
    3.6 / 5 Good

    Stop serving breakfast, it is terrible, cold, dry, hard bread, coffee wich is not coffee, and something they called scrambled eggs, it look poisened. You can go outside the hotel, and find lots of place with fresh bread and coffee. It is a shame that they take money for that, it can be done much better.

    Poul Alexandersen (Denmark)Couple
  • 6 July 2015
    4.2 / 5 Good

    The roof terrace was excellent with great views on Rome rooftops!

    Riikka (Finland)Couple
  • 2 July 2015
    5 / 5 Excellent

    Very helpful front desk!

    Anonymous (United States)Couple
  • 7 July 2014
    4.8 / 5 Excellent

    Our second time staying at the Genio and we really love the place.
    I think the hotel is one of the best values in Rome.
    The best breakfast spot in Rome!

    David Witham (United States)Couple with children
  • 27 May 2014
    4.1 / 5 Good

    Excellent location to Piazza Navona and proximity to Vatican and other attractions/restaruants. Beautiful rooftop view. Perfect for a short stay.

    Jeanne Taylor (United States)Couple
  • 2 April 2014
    4.4 / 5 Good

    IRINA KORNEEVA (Russia)Group
  • 11 March 2014
    4.2 / 5 Good

    Meccanico55 (Norway)Couple
  • 25 February 2014
    3.3 / 5 Above average

    Position is perfect

    Anonymous (United Kingdom)Group
  • 14 February 2014
    3.9 / 5 Good

    Anonymous (Spain)Couple
  • 5 February 2014
    3.5 / 5 Good

    Deben cuidarse ciertos detalles :
    1.Colocar luces de lectura individuales en las habitaciones dobles
    2.En las habitaciones individuales las puertas de las duchas apenas pueden abrirse del todo con lo que resulta muy incómodo entrar y salir( le pasó a mi nieta de 16 años; imáginense a una persona un poco obesa.
    3.Los aparatos de televisión son muy antiguos y la recepción regular.
    4.Los paños de las puertas están envejecidos y cierran mal.

    Isidro Martinez-Aguado (Spain)Couple
  • 9 January 2014
    4.3 / 5 Good

    Anonymous (Italy)Single traveller
  • 2 January 2014
    3.8 / 5 Good

    El hotel tiene categoria de 4 estrellas pero en realidad no responde a mas de tres. La atencion y el trato del personal muy agradable y atento. Necesita una renovacion de todas las intalaciones. Desde luego lo mejor de todo, la ubicacion ,a un paso de todo....

    Diego Morillas Méndez (Spain)Couple with children
  • 28 December 2013
    4 / 5 Good

    Hotel situato in ottima posizione, direi perfetta. Buon compromesso qualità prezzo. Camere spaziose per essere un Hotel centrale e un po' datato. Bella la terrazza. Servizi comodissimi dalla stazione ferroviaria Termini, raggiungibile in 15 minuti in autobus o taxi. Lo suggerisco senza dubbio.

    Alberto (Italy)Couple with children
  • 26 December 2013
    4.3 / 5 Good

    Bas (Norway)Couple with children
  • 18 November 2013
    3.9 / 5 Good

    Vibeke Brylle (Denmark)Couple
  • 19 October 2013
    4.8 / 5 Excellent

    Wonderful location. We really enjoyed the roof top deck.

    Anonymous (United States)Couple
  • 17 October 2013
    4.4 / 5 Good

    GHESQUIERE FREDERIC (Belgium)Group
  • 4 September 2013
    4.4 / 5 Good

    This hotel us the Perfect base for exploring the sights, Pantheon 10 minute walk away, Vatican 15 mins, Trevi fountain 20 and Spanish Steps 25 mins.
    Colosseum reached by bus which stops outside of the hotel and costs €3.00 or a 40 minute walk, but after 2 days of walking a bus was a welcome break.
    Hotel is approximately 2 minutes from Piazza Navano which is fantastic but so very expensive.
    Be warned drinking and eating in the Piazza is massively over priced.
    I would defiantly use this hotel again and strongley recommend it.

    Mark Holloway (United Kingdom)Couple
  • 29 July 2013
    4.2 / 5 Good

    Frank Pieters (Belgium)Couple
  • 19 June 2013
    5 / 5 Excellent

    The rooftop terrace was one of the best views of rome. my stay at hotel genio was fantastic! the staff was so accomodating and courteous.i would recommend this hotel to anyone. cathy s.

    Cathy (United States)Couple
  • 1 June 2013
    4.1 / 5 Good

    Perfect located. Fantastic terrace. Rome is one big museum.

    Ton Koster (Netherlands)Couple
  • 24 May 2013
    2.6 / 5 Above average

    Giuseppe Orrù (Italy)Business traveller
  • 11 May 2013
    4.8 / 5 Excellent

    Anonymous (France)Couple
  • 11 May 2013
    4.3 / 5 Good

    Lars Nedergård (Sweden)Couple
  • 4 April 2013
    4.3 / 5 Good

    Il frigorifero della stanza è rumoroso e dà fastidio quando si dorme.
    L'illuminazione della stanza non è parzializzabile (appliques tutte accese o tutte spente) e quindi poco funzionale per una camera da letto.
    Nel box doccia l'erogatore dell'acqua non poteva essere agganciato al tubo scorrevole della parete a causa della mancanza di un accessorio.
    I tavoli della sala colazione presentavano tovaglia già utilizzata in precedenza, anche se in buone condizioni di pulizia.

    Andrea (Italy)Couple
  • 2 April 2013
    4.2 / 5 Good

    Anonymous (Denmark)Couple
  • 1 July 2012
    4.3 / 5 Good

    I was quite pleased with the Hotel Genio and the staff.
    I was disappointed in the service provided by Unitravel since our reservation was incorrectly communicated to the hotel. The Leonardi group handled the situation properly; however we had to stay in an alternate hotel for our first night. We were able to move for the remainder 2 nights.
    If the reservation had been handled properly this would not have happened.
    I would book directly with the Hotel in the future.

    Bridget Guccione (United States)Couple
  • 26 June 2012
    3.9 / 5 Good

    Die Lage des Hotels ist für einen kurzen Rom - Urlaub ideal, Ausstattung und Service sind in Ordnung. Die Zimmer sind klein, aber gut ausgestattet, die Innenhofzimmeer bieten zwar keine Aussicht, sind daber dafür extrem ruhig - in dieser Zentrumsnähe eine Seltenheit. Die Frühstücks - Dachterrasse bietet zwar eine attraktive Aussicht, mit dem einzigen kleinen Lift muss man allerdings viel Zeit einplanen, um in den 6. Stock zu kommen.

    Günther Greul (Austria)Couple
  • 12 June 2012
    4 / 5 Good

    The roof terrasse is excellent

    Anonymous (Norway)Couple
  • 3 June 2012
    4 / 5 Good

    Finn Steno Thygesen (Denmark)Couple
  • 29 May 2012
    3.6 / 5 Good

    My room had water damage on wall outside bathroom. Shower head did not stay up so needed to improvise. Carpeting in room was old. Great location, comfortable bed and air conditioning and good staff.

    Marc from NYC (United States)Couple
  • 5 May 2012
    4.7 / 5 Excellent

    Astrid Dr. Lenz-Dörr (Germany)Couple
  • 31 March 2012
    4.8 / 5 Excellent

    L'hôtel dans lequel je descendrai si je reviens à Rome. Il n'y a pas mieux comme emplacement pour un touriste.

    Claude NAVA (France)Couple
  • 26 December 2011
    4.4 / 5 Good

    Perhaps you could put felt material on the legs of the chairs in the breakfast room. As the room was being set up for breakfast, we could clearly hear the noise in our room on the 5th floor.

    Robert Castellano (United States)Couple
  • 1 December 2011
    5 / 5 Excellent

    John Martin (Ireland)Couple
  • 1 December 2011
    4 / 5 Good

    We have stayed at the Genio quite a few times. Its location is excellent--just outside the Piazza Navona, near the Pantheon, walkable to the Vatican and other key attractions, and is near a bus stop for most other destinations. Terrific restaurants right around the corner in both directions. It's not a perfect hotel, but what is? It is comfortable, the staff are personable and try to help, the new breakfast room is quite attractive. To me, the big drawback is that there are no suites or other facilites for a long stay. We really like this hotel, but for a stay of more than a week, even one of their larger rooms can be confining. We have recommended the Genio to a number of friends and relatives, all of whom have been quite satisfied.

    Margaret (United States)Couple
  • 20 November 2011
    4.3 / 5 Good

    DAN MARSHALL (United States)Couple
  • 7 November 2011
    4.3 / 5 Good

    Anonymous (United Kingdom)Single traveller
  • 15 October 2011
    4.8 / 5 Excellent

    We were very pleased with our stay at Hotel Genio, and would gladly come back. The location was perfect!

    Anonymous (Norway)Couple
  • 11 October 2011
    5 / 5 Excellent

    Dupont Ole Rud (Denmark)Couple
  • 2 August 2011
    4.5 / 5 Excellent

    Cely Ano Bom (Brazil)Couple
  • 5 July 2011
    4.2 / 5 Good

    Anonymous (United Kingdom)Couple
  • 21 June 2011
    4.7 / 5 Excellent

    The Genio is located close to all the sites that you'll want to see, the staff are professional and really helpful, great restaurants right around the corner, all this at a great price; you can't beat the Genio for your Rome hotel.

    Mark Smalley (United States)Couple
  • 6 June 2011
    3.8 / 5 Good

    Roar Gabrielsen (Norway)Couple
  • 1 February 2011
    4.3 / 5 Good

    Anonymous (Spain)Couple
  • 18 January 2011
    4.7 / 5 Excellent

    Sally Bozzola (United States)Couple with children
  • 25 December 2010
    4.8 / 5 Excellent

    Anonymous (United States)Single traveller
  • 7 December 2010
    4.5 / 5 Excellent

    I love this hotel, and I have been living there really many times. The terracce is beutyfull, special in the summertime. And the hotel is very clouse to all thing.
    Best regards
    Ann Bekness

    Ann Beknes (Denmark)Single traveller
  • 12 November 2010
    4.4 / 5 Good

    Siamo stati molto bene, per le camere osservo che la vista era un po' deprimente, siamo abituati ad un colpo d'occhio ben diverso spaziante in modo libero nella natura.
    Un'osservazione decisamente negativa, ma non riguarda l'hotel, concerne sul modo con il quale è stato gestito il dopo incendio delle motorette avvenuto proprio davanti all'entrata dell'albergo. I relitti e le scorie dell'incendio sono rimasti per alcuni giorni senza intervento di rimozione alcuno e forse soono ancora giacenti oggi. Una cattiva immagine subita involontariamente anche dall'hotel. Di sicuro torneremo.

    Carmelo MAZZA (Switzerland)Couple
  • 23 September 2010
    2.8 / 5 Above average

    Anonymous (Belgium)Group
  • 7 September 2010
    3.3 / 5 Above average

    EDITH LERVIGNE (Belgium)Group
  • 13 August 2010
    4.5 / 5 Excellent

    Great location, 200 meters from San Marco Square, and the hotel's location on a busy and picturesque cannel was ideal. I found the personnel working the desk very helpful and friendly. Their command of many languages was impressive. They were helpful in providing tour advice.
    The elevator took forever to come to your floor when called and was small, as was the lounge and common area. The room size could have been a little bigger, but I know space is a premium so close to San Marco Square.

    Donald Welch (Chile)Couple
  • 1 August 2010
    4.2 / 5 Good

    The staff of the hotel was very helpfull and friendly. Each morning a good breakfast was serves. The hotel was in a beautiful location, right to the Piazza Navona and very close to The Vatican. All shopping streets were on walking-distance as well. Even the eldest of Rome was easily to reach! Loved the hotel and the place it is located.

    Jean P.C.G. van der Wielen (Netherlands)Couple
  • 26 July 2010
    0 / 5

    Palle almvig (Denmark)Couple
  • 27 June 2010
    5 / 5 Excellent

    Joan McAfoos (United States)Couple
  • 4 June 2010
    2.8 / 5 Above average

    The reception staff was indifferent and condescending. The porter and room-cleaning person were very nice. The room was worn looking. This WOULD NOT BE a 4 star hotel in America or other areas of Italy. Had to run cold water for 5 minutes to get rid of very hot water until could get cold water (Almost burned self in shower the first day until learned the "trick"!) The so-called terrace DOES NOT look like the pictures and does not have tables to eat breakfast or have drinks as advertised. Good points - the bed was firm and good, the bathroom was very clean due to our cleaning person, and location was good by the Piazza Navona. Would choose a different hotel. BIG disappointmenbt!

    Ebird (United States)Couple
  • 11 April 2010
    4.6 / 5 Excellent

    GERALD AUGUSTYNIAK (United States)Couple
  • 11 April 2010
    4.8 / 5 Excellent

    Shower door needed repair; toilet did not flush well. Appreciated the small safe. Desk clerks were all quite helpful and accommodating. We are used to having wi-fi in the room and included in the price of the room, but Genio does not offer it. We differ on whether we would recommend the hotel: I would, my wife would not.

    Anonymous (United States)Couple
  • 1 March 2010
    3.8 / 5 Good

    Anonymous (United Kingdom)Group
  • 3 February 2010
    3.9 / 5 Good

    Nous étions au 3ème étage, il y avait un bruit continu la nuit qui nous empêchait de dormir. Chambre avec douche pas de baignoire et pas de chauffage dans la salle de bain et en hiver c'est froid. La chambre est petite avec tapis plein. La situation de l'hôtel est excellente on a su tout visiter à pied. Très belle terrasse au dernier étage de l'hôtel avec vue panoramique. La prochaine fois on réservera une chambre calme au dernier étage côté rue.

    EDOUARD VAN DE PUTTE (Belgium)Couple
  • 3 February 2010
    4.2 / 5 Good

    Dorte Lützen (Denmark)Couple
  • 2 February 2010
    2.9 / 5 Above average

    Anonymous (Denmark)Couple
  • 10 December 2009
    2.8 / 5 Above average

    Il personale è stato molto maleducato con noi. Benchè l'hotel si trovi in una posizione ottima, non lo raccomanderei per la colazione, che è assolutamente scadente.

    Anonymous (Italy)Couple
  • 9 November 2009
    4 / 5 Good

    /thomasc (Sweden)Couple
  • 9 November 2009
    4.1 / 5 Good

    SONIA VANDENBROUCKE (Belgium)Couple
  • 14 October 2009
    4.2 / 5 Good

    Very helpful staff.

    Anonymous (United Kingdom)Couple
  • 24 September 2009
    4.2 / 5 Good

    We were 2 single women traveling together, so not really a "couple." The desk managers were extremely pleasant and helpful, especially when giving us directions! The location of the hotel is convenient to just about every important site, which made walking to them very easy. I would recommend this hotel to anyone interested in moderately priced, comfortable, conveniently located accomodations.

    Anonymous (United States)Single traveller
  • 23 September 2009
    1.9 / 5 Average

    Leaking shower, cramped room, wallpaper falling down, rain comming down the walls, faulty windows and locks, could not be locked properly. Paperthin walls, colud hear sick neighbour all night.
    Things not fixed when promised, would not recommend it.

    International Traveller (Norway)Couple
  • 27 August 2009
    4.1 / 5 Good

    Anonymous (Denmark)Couple
  • 21 August 2009
    3.9 / 5 Good

    Anonymous (Denmark)Couple
  • 6 August 2009
    3.5 / 5 Good

    Jean Pierre Sørensen (Denmark)Couple
  • 30 July 2009
    1.8 / 5 Average

    Even allowing for the fact that Italian is not spoken by any of our party of two couples the Rception was abysmally miserable, not a smile or any form of welcome greeting, condecension is too far up the scale to compare with regard to attitude.
    The room itself was clean, the toilet tissue was good quality, a decent selection of toiletries in the bathroom, the bedroom curtains however were filthy the bedcover dirty, smell of stale tobacco within the room, the bed linen was clean and starched.
    Typically of this type of Hotel Continental Breakfast was available (not served) in an overcrowded basement 'dining room', sel service everything and of course no toaster, replenishment of empty trays (croissants) was more than slow. I couldnt wait longer so did without. Wanting to sheck on my Taxi I spent ten minutes in Reception waiting for the receptionist (Male) to finish his telephone conversation in the end I gave up and wandered away to the beautiful rooftop garden and took a few photo's.
    Despite ordering a taxi for four people and emphasising that we needed a large Taxi as we had four large suitcases a miniscule vehicle arrived without Taxi plates or visible Licence, although we managed to load it with great difficulty it was a crush only three suitcases in the boot one suitcase between the driver and front seat passenger three big uns squeezed on the back seat along with an assortment of hand baggage.
    Would deffo return to Roma even the same area but will not be boking this hotel again

    Anonymous (United Kingdom)Group
  • 29 July 2009
    2.3 / 5 Average

    The hotel was positioned very well and from the comments we had read looked like a really good bet. Unfortunately you were greeted at reception by someone on the phone who made no effort to acknowledge you were stood in front of him. Of the two rooms booked one was ready & he did offer us access to drop the bags off.
    The room itself whilst big in size was dirty. Not to the extent that you couldn't stay there but just needed a very good clean. The sheets were clean. The whole room had clearly had smokers in and as for the air conditioning the room was still 33 degrees with it on all night.
    Breakfast on the whole was fine with fresh food although the milk was suspect & I did not eat the cornflakes.
    The downstairs lounge area was fine although the carpets and staircase just needed a thorough clean. Its the sort of place that could be very good with greater care and attention particularly to cleanliness.
    In summary if you are a single person and need a bed for the night yes it will do but if I had to stay any longer I would go elswhere.

    Carl Hopkins (United Kingdom)Couple
  • 17 July 2009
    3.8 / 5 Good

    Allan Rasmussen (Denmark)Couple with children
  • 15 July 2009
    3.5 / 5 Good

    Anonymous (Denmark)Couple with children
  • 10 July 2009
    2.9 / 5 Above average

    Henning Bekker (Denmark)Couple
  • 11 June 2009
    3.6 / 5 Good

    Anonymous (Spain)Group
  • 6 June 2009
    4.3 / 5 Good

    Anonymous (Italy)Couple
  • 6 April 2009
    4 / 5 Good

    Occorre un po' di manutenzione, in particolare piastrelle e sanitari del bagno

    Anonymous (Italy)Couple
  • 26 February 2009
    2.3 / 5 Average

    We saw several damages to the walls inside the hotel and it generally seemed like the maintenance of the building and rooms had very low priority.
    The room was clean and tidy and the staff was very friendly and gave god service and information.

    Anonymous (Denmark)Couple with children
  • 13 February 2009
    3.5 / 5 Good

    Anonymous (Denmark)Couple
  • 30 January 2009
    4.4 / 5 Good

    Anonymous (Norway)Couple
  • 20 January 2009
    2.6 / 5 Above average

    Anonymous (Denmark)Couple
  • 14 January 2009
    3.1 / 5 Above average

    Anonymous (United Kingdom)Group
  • 12 January 2009
    1.8 / 5 Average

    4 stelle ma economico, il che giustifica alcune lacune.

    Anonymous (Italy)Single traveller
  • 12 January 2009
    2.1 / 5 Average

    ...rapporto qualità/prezzo buono, siamo lontani da un 4 stelle.

    Anonymous (Italy)Couple
  • 12 January 2009
    2.3 / 5 Average

    Da un 4 stelle ci si aspetta molto di piu.

    Anonymous (Italy)Couple
  • 29 December 2008
    4.2 / 5 Good

    A little to much noise from the compressors in the backyard.

    Anonymous (Denmark)Couple
  • 27 December 2008
    3.8 / 5 Good

    Un accorgimento ...visto che sono in aumento le persone che soffrono di allergie:eliminare la moquette regno di acari ecc. ecc.
    Cordiali saluti

    Anonymous (Italy)Couple
  • 25 November 2008
    3.8 / 5 Good

    Ottima collocazione. unica critica la moquette vecchiotta

    Anonymous (Italy)Couple
  • 11 November 2008
    2 / 5 Average

    Anonymous (Switzerland)Single traveller
  • 5 October 2008
    3.3 / 5 Above average

    The hotel location was excellent but the hotel is in need of a revamp and is looking a little tired. Breakfast was fine but there was no bar. Also there was no information in the hotel room about the hotel or any surrounding attractions. All in all it was a great location.

    Anonymous (United Kingdom)Couple
  • 15 September 2008
    4 / 5 Good

    Alessandro toccafondi (Italy)Single traveller
  • 21 August 2008
    3.8 / 5 Good

    Anonymous (Russia)Couple
  • 31 July 2008
    4.1 / 5 Good

    Anonymous (Denmark)Couple with children
  • 7 July 2008
    3.4 / 5 Above average

    Genio location is excellent. Busy outside -- quiet inside. Room comfort is lacking. Showers too small. Beds VERY uncomfortable (needs new mattresses). Inadequate seating. Employees concerned and accomodating.

    DAC (United States)Couple
  • 11 June 2008
    4.6 / 5 Excellent

    Finn Lindegaard Madsen (Denmark)Couple
  • 16 May 2008
    4 / 5 Good

    Onno Binnerts (Netherlands)Couple
  • 5 May 2008
    3 / 5 Above average

    Anonymous (Sweden)Couple
  • 28 April 2008
    4.1 / 5 Good

    Bent Lundgaard (Denmark)Couple
  • 24 April 2008
    4.1 / 5 Good

    Kipe (Denmark)Couple
  • 26 January 2008
    3.1 / 5 Above average

    PIETRO TAMPONI (Italy)Business traveller
  • 7 January 2008
    3.7 / 5 Good

    Anonymous (Italy)Couple
  • 29 December 2007
    4 / 5 Good

    We have stay/booked Hotel Genio three times and also next time we visit Rome.

    Jørgen Hansen (Denmark)Couple
  • 12 December 2007
    2 / 5 Average

    Emilio Valdivia (Spain)Couple with children
  • 8 December 2007
    4.2 / 5 Good

    Anne mette Villadsen (Denmark)Couple
  • 30 November 2007
    4.1 / 5 Good

    Antonio Vasta (Italy)Single traveller
  • 21 November 2007
    4.7 / 5 Excellent

    The only thing I would like to have improved is the quality of the breakfast; better coffee and bread.

    Anonymous (Norway)Couple
  • 16 October 2007
    4.3 / 5 Good

    Anonymous (Norway)Couple

Give us your Feedback